Randal, plain and simple

Structure for life

A phrase in the quote below has prompted much reflection:

I didn’t realize how much I relied on urgency as a substitute for structure. It wasn’t good. I don’t recommend it. So now I’m learning, or trying to learn, how to give myself structure, how to set limits. Flexibility has served me well. I needed it. Now I need to shift into something different. ─Annie Mueller

The following thought questions might be helpful in pondering and applying the quote above:

  1. What is it, either one thing or a group of things, that gives needed structure to our lives?

  2. How does a Christian deal with structure and flexibility, especially considering the model in the New Testament for faith and practice?

  3. Where is the golden mean between never making a decision and letting urgency determine how we decide?

  4. The quote above suggests that there are times when more flexibility is needed, other times when structure is more welcome. Is that true? How does that work over time?

  5. What can the disciple of Christ count on for his necessary structure in terms of setting limits, making decisions, and managing life transitions?

Thoughts? Leave a comment

Comments
  1. Ron — Jul 21, 2024:

    It's interesting how we drift into urgency. I have structure (mainstay), but I have slipped into urgency a number of times and, mostly, not pleased with the end result.